Champions on the Hardwood: A Season Recap on Men’s and Women’s Squash

3 min read

Ashley McDermott ’26

The Trinity Squash program exemplifies qualities of a hardworking and skillful team. These students (the majority of which are from outside the United States) have made their mark on our campus as leaders, as friends and as athletes. Between both the men’s and women’s team, there are countless notable achievements. From September all the way to March, these two teams have been consistent in their determination. They dominated the Division I section and NESCACs for years and will hopefully continue this streak in the coming seasons.

The women’s team wrapped up the 2023- 24 Howe Cup Collegiate Squash Association Championship victorious, knocking down Princeton University. The match took place on March 3. The Bantams brought home the champion title after completing an undefeated season. With a record of 17-0, this is the first time in over 20 years that the program has been undefeated. Players within these matches included senior co-captain Nouran Youssef ’24, senior co-captain Madeleine Hylland ’24, Hannah Chukwu ’26, Jana Safy ’25, Lulu Palacios Benitez ’25 and Kara Lincou ’26. Youssef, Hylland and Chukwu each walked away with three set sweeps, essentially earning 11 points each game, three times within their match. The women’s team also collected honors such as NESCAC Player of the Year and multiple All-Conference selections. Youssef earned Player of the Year as well as the First Team All-Conference title. This is Youssef’s third year being recognized on the All-NESCAC First Team. Hylland and Safy nabbed First Team All-Conference as well and Fabiola Cabello ’26, Chukwu and Lincou each have been named in the Second Team All-Conference.

The men’s team ended their 2023-2024 season 19- 1, losing only in their final match. On the hardwood of the Potter Cup Finals, the Bantams were bested by the University of Pennsylvania Quakers. Leading up to this final match, Trinity men’s squash have been recognized and celebrated for their incredible season. Senior co-captain Mohamed Sharaf ’24 walked away as NESCAC Squash Player of the Year, along with being selected for the First Team All-Conference. Not to mention, this is Sharaf’s third consecutive season receiving Player of the Year and being named to the First Team title. Aly El Toukhy ’24, senior co-captain Abdelrahman Nassar ’24, Joachim Chuah Han Wen ’26, senior co-captain Khamal Cumberbatch ’24 and Benedek Takacs ’26 each earned spots on All-Conference teams. Men’s squash coaches Moustafa Hamada, Paul Assaiante and Mohamed ElSherbini were also named the NESCAC coaches of the year.

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours