You’re Invited: Men’s Basketball Wins NESCACs, Reaches “Sweet Sixteen” in NCAA DIII

2 min read

Ashley McDermott ’26

Sports Editor

After a long season of hard work and determination, Trinity’s men’s basketball team has won the NESCAC championship. On Feb. 25, the Bantams faced off with Williams College at the Chandler Gymnasium for their NESCAC Championship game. This is the men’s basketball team’s first win for the New England Small College Athletic Conference since 2008. After winning the game 59-52, the team was sitting with a 26-1 record within their season, and currently seeded at number three in the NCAA Division III ranking.

On March 1, the Bantams hosted Utica at the Ray Oosting Gymnasium in the first round of the NCAA Division III tournament. They notched a field goal percentage of 50% along with 43 rebounds. 13 of the 16 athletes registered points, where senior captain Ben Callahan-Gold ’24 led with a team-high 15 points, Henry Vetter ’26 claiming 11, Will Dorion ’25 adding 10, Jarrel Okorougo ’26 with nine and Drew Lazarre ’26 scored eight points. The game opened with an 8-5 lead from the Bantams, closing the half with 35-22 lead. With a finishing score of 83-54, the men’s team conquered Utica, carrying them to the second round against Swarthmore on Sunday, March 3.

In their game against Swarthmore, the team finished with a win, with a final score of 83-74. For the first time since 2015, the Bantams have moved onto the Sweet 16 in the NCAA Championship. The game started neck and neck, with the teams trading the lead six times within the first five minutes. Callahan-Gold scored a total of 17 points with four rebounds and two blocks. Vetter also came in with 17 points, three rebounds and three assists. Dana Smith ’23 scored 13 points with four rebounds and three assists. Forward/Center Sean Macarchuk ’25 added 10 points and two rebounds.

In light of their success, the men’s team has received numerous awards. Graduate student #04 Smith won the NESCAC Defensive Player of the Year award. Callahan-Gold and #03 Vetter both were named to FirstTeam All-Conference. The coaching staff also received recognition. James Cosgrove, Trey Witter and John McNair were named as the NESCAC Coaching Staff of the Year.

The team is set to face Tufts in the NCAA Division III tournament this Friday, March 8 at 7:45 p.m. in the Oosting Gymnasium. Tickets are sold online through the Bantam Sports website. Adult prices are $15, Seniors are $10 and children three and up are $10. Come out to support the Bantams and pack the coop!

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours